+8 (800) 333-39-74

 

Free calls from anywhere within Russia

  

7 (499) 110-08-34

Moscow  

8 (914) 321-28-79

Vladivostok

1 (305) 771-54-24

Miami

(612) 807-305-90

Sydney

 

The Sevengill shark

Hexanchidae sharks, genus Heptranchias, genus Notorynchus, Hexanchidae family

Heptranchiasperlo- The sharpnose sevengill shark

Notorynchuscepedianus - The broadnose sevengill shark

Sevengill sharks, as well as sixgill ones, belong to Hexanchiforme order of Hexanchidae family. They are represented by two genera: sharpnose sevengill and broadnose sevengill sharks. As one may guess, these two species have their names according to the number of gills they have on each side. Unlike other sharks, which have five pairs of gills slits, the sharks of Hexanchidae family (griset sharks) have either six (sixgill) or seven (sevengill) pairs of gill slits.

Theres also one sixgill species among saw sharks, but according to its constitution it still belongs to Pristiophoridae family (saw sharks).

The word Hexanchidae can be literally translated from Latin as cow fish. Cow sharks as some predatoryrepresentatives of this family are often called have a fusiform body with a single dorsal fin, which is situated not far from the caudal fin and pretty much under the anal fin.

They have an even coloration and a nearly equal color of belly and back. Their color may vary from dark brown to grey. Their eyes are green and can fluoresce in the dark.

The dentition of the sevengill shark has a unique structure, due to which the whole family got its name. The shape of the teeth on the lower row looks similar to a cockscomb: theyre sharp, curved inwardly and of different height. Thanks to such a structure these sharks can not only hold easily any slick prey, but to crack a crab crust as well.

All the cow sharks are regarded as the eldest representatives of all the predator fishwhich have come to our days. There is reliable scientific information proving the fact that these sharks have been existing at least since Mesozoic era.The archeologists have found some fossil remains of such shark in the deposits of Jurassic age. Therefore, cow sharks turned out to be dwelling the ancient seas about 150 million years ago.

These are quite primitive creatures with their bodies having all the main features of the eldest species. The scientists have discovered a lot of different shark species so far, but any of them looks so similar to its ancient fellows as the cow sharks do.

Unlike other Hexanchiformes, sevengill sharks live at a depth of about 500 meters. This gave the marine biologists an opportunity to study their behavior very thoroughly.  The scientists currently know only two species of sevengill sharks:Notorynchuscepedianus the broadnose sevengill shark and Heptranchiasperlo the sharpnose sevengill shark.

Sevengill shark habitats

Both species of sevengill sharks inhabit the American coastal waters. The broadnose sevengill shark dwells next to the Cuban shores and in the Atlantic Ocean, while the sharpnose one lives in Pacific Ocean and all over South America coast waters. The sevengill sharks can also be met nearby the shores of Spain, South Africa, Japan, Australia, and in the Mediterranean sea.

The sevengill sharks feed on gastropods, crabs, octopuses, small sharks, guitarfish, stone eels and many species of bony fish: sturgeon, salmon, anchovy and others. They dont loath eating carrion too, as well as rats, which get to the ocean from desert islands, where they live in large populations.

The sevengill sharks inhabiting the coastal waters at the south of Africa feed on squids, crustaceans,lamellibranchiate and bony fish representatives. At times they may go hunting on dolphins and fur seals, their favorite large prey.

Sevengill sharks are ovoviviparous. Their males become pubescent as they get their bodies around 1,5 meters long; females when they are 1,8 - 2 meters long. They usually produce more than 100 individuals per spawn. The shark pups are born 50 centimeters long and quite adapted to the individual life style; they grow very fast.

Notorynchusplatycephalus. The broadnose sevengill shark.

The Broadnose sevengill shark is a pretty large representative of the sevengill sharks. Its length can reach up to 2 meters, with its average weight around 250 kilograms. Its main difference from other shark species lays in an additional pair of gills it has on each side. It has one dorsal fin not far from the caudal fin, and big eyes without nictitating membranes.

The broadnose sevengill sharks live at a depth within 300 and 500 meters under the surface. They prefer to dwell in creeks and gulfs. They rise to the surface during daytime and go back to the bottom at night. In other words, they make a diurnal migration. These predators also make seasonal migrations. In warm seasons they prefer to dwell in shallow waters, in cold seasons they go depthward following the plankton, which is a perfect food for fish and animals. The sharks themselves feed on the latter.

The broadnose sevengill shark hunts various marine fauna representatives: stone eels, smaller sharks, fish eggs, snails, bony fish, ghost sharks and rats. It also feeds on porpoises, dolphins and seals.

From the earliest times, the broadnose sevengill shark is considered one of the most precious fishery subjects. The Maori hunters used to make special tools like saws for human meat from sharp tuatini teeth (their name for the broadnose sharks). They used the shark oil mixed with sienna to paint their boats and the great leaders funeral stones too. They also used the oil to grease the heads and bodies of their dead.

Nowadays the broadnose sevengill sharks are mostly harvested in Shandong and Liaoning provinces of China. They are caught with hooks instead of nets. Their liver contains 75% of oil, exceedingly rich in vitamin A. For comparison, other sharks liver contains only 14 to 25% of oil. The broadnose sevengill shark oil is widely used in Chinese medical practice and pharmacology.

But Europeans only use the broadnose sharks for food. Furthermore, they eat all the parts of it: from its body to the fins; and even the skin. The broadnose shark meat is very popular in south California. Its liver, as well as the whales one, is quite risky to eat because of great number of vitamins it contains. Havingenjoyed it once, one may get poisoned from their overuse.

Some of the broadnose sevengill sharks are really dangerous for humans. There are some 3 to 4,5 meters long man-eaters dwelling next to South America, America, Australia shores, or in the Mediterranean sea, who have attacked humans for many times.

Heptranchiasperlo.The sharpnose sevengill shark.

The sharpnose sevengill shark belongs to the second known species of the sevengill sharks. The upper part of its body is brown-grey; its belly is light brown. The sharpnose shark can also be called slender sevengill shark, one-finned shark, and sevengill cow shark.

Thanks to the unique shape of its body the sharpnose shark is an excellent swimmer. It has a narrow, pointed head and slim, streamline body. It can hold easily its prey, squids and fish with its sharp teeth. The big eyes of sharpnose shark let it hunt at a depth about one kilometer, while other sharks usually stay in shallow waters up to 500 meters.

The sharpnose sevengill shark prefers tropical and temperate waters of the Atlantic Ocean. They dwell next to the coasts of Cuba, Spain, South Africa, and also in the Mediterranean Sea.

The sharpnose sevengill shark is an ovoviviparous fish. The females can bring forth under 20 pups per turn. Comparing to other shark species the sharpnose sharks have pretty modest size: about 1,3 meters. Thats why this species isnt regarded as too dangerous for humans. Nevertheless, they are quite aggressive, which one may clearly observe having caught one of them. And this is the very reason by which the sharpnose shark is,however, included to the rank of dangerous ones. In addition, the sharpnose sevengill shark can be even more dangerous than whale shark, or basking shark, as it can inflict severe injuries with its teeth.

There is an instance when the sharpnose sevengill shark, kept in captivity, has violently attacked the diver. It is guilty for petty attacks on people in shallow waters too. Once upon a time there were found some human remains in the stomach of one of the sharpnose sharks. But it is still unknown, whether the predator has hunted someone down, or simply was feeding on the already dead body.

There also was an incident in 2010, when the sharpnose sevengill shark attacked a teenage girl next to the shores of New Zealand. Fortunately, the girl has managed to hurl it back with her bodyboard. Butstill, she had her leg bitten and was taken to the hospital. After that the girl, who used to be very keen on sea sports,has given up swimming in the ocean. A year before there already was registeredseveralsimilar incidents. One of such sharpnose shark victims has got 60 stitches.

Yet, the sharpnose sevengill shark is less aggressive than, say, the bullhead shark or the great white shark. Nevertheless, one shouldnt relax while bathing in the areas the sharpnose sharks supposedly dwell.

Copyright ©  «». .

 

: InfoDesignerWeb

8 (800) 333-39-74

 

ЗВОНОК БЕСПЛАТНЫЙ

из любой точки России

7 (499) 110-08-34

Телефон в Москве  

8 (914) 321-28-79

Телефон во Владивостоке

1 (305) 771-54-24

Телефон в Майами (США)

(612) 807-305-90

Телефон в Сидней (Австралия)

 

Семижаберная акула

Акулы Hexanchidae, род Heptranchias, род Notorynchus, семейство Гребнезубые

Heptranchias perlo – Пепельный семижаберник

Notorynchus cepedianus – Плоскоголовый семижаберник

Семижаберные акулы, так же, как и шестижаберные, относятся к отряду многожаберниковообразных, принадлежащему семейству гребнезубых селахий. Объединены в два рода – пепельный семижаберник (Heptranchias perlo) и плоскоголовый семижаберник (Notorynchus cepedianus). Данные акулы, как несложно догадаться, получили свое название по количеству жаберных щелей на своем туловище. В отличие от других акул, имеющих по пять пар жаберных щелей, акулы семейства гребнезубых имеют или шесть пар (шестижаберные), или семь пар (семижаберные) жаберных щелей.

Также один шестижаберный вид имеется и среди пилоносых акул, но по своему строению он, несомненно, относится к семейству пилоносов.

С латинского языка слово Hexanchidae (гребнезубые) дословно переводится, как «рыба-корова». Акулы – коровы, так еще иногда называют хищных представителей данного семейства, имеют веретенообразное плотное тело с одним - единственным спинным плавником, расположенным недалеко от хвостового плавника практически над анальным.

Окраска тела у них равномерная, цвет брюха и спины почти одинаков. Он варьируется от темно-коричневого до серого. Глаза зеленого цвета обладают способностью флуоресценции в темноте.

Зубной аппарат семижаберной акулы имеет уникальное строение, благодаря которому семейство и получило свое название. По своей форме зубы нижней ее челюсти напоминают петушиный гребень. Их основания имеют острые, загнутые во внутрь пасти вершинки разной высоты. Зубы расположены равномерно по радиусу челюсти. Данная конструкция позволяет акулам не только удерживать скользкую добычу, но и в случае необходимости, раскусить крабовый панцирь.

Все гребнезубые акулы считаются самыми древними представителями хищных рыб, которые дожили до наших дней. О том, что они существовали еще во времена мезозойской эры, имеются достоверные научные данные. Окаменевшие остатки подобной акулы были найдены археологами в отложениях Юрского периода. Таким образом, гребнезубые акулы, согласно подсчетам, в древних морях плавали еще 150 миллионов лет тому назад.

Это довольно примитивные творения, тела которых имеют все основные признаки древнейших видов. На сегодняшний день ученым известно огромное количество различных видов акул, но ни один из них так сильно не напоминает своих доисторических собратьев, как гребнеобразные акулы.

В отличие от остальных многожаберников, семижаберные акулы обитают на небольшой глубине – до 500 метров. Это дало возможность морским биологам очень подробно изучить их образ жизни. На сегодняшний день ученым известно всего два вида семижаберных акул: Notorynchus cepedianus – плоскоголобый семижаберник обыкновенный и Heptranchias perlo – пепельный семижаберник.

Места обитания семижаберной акулы

Оба вида семижаберников обитают у американских берегов. Плосколобая семижаберная акула – у берегов Кубы в Атлантическом океане, а пепельная семижаберная акула – в Тихом океане у южноамериканского побережья. Также семижаберников можно встретить у берегов Испании, Южной Африки, Японии, Австралии и в Средиземном море.

Питаются семижаберные акулы брюхоногими моллюсками, крабами, осьминогами, мелкими акулами, скатами, миногами и многими видами костистых рыб: осетрами, лососями, анчоусами и другими. Не брезгуют они и падалью, а также крысами, которые попадают в океан с необитаемых людьми островов, где они живут огромными популяциями.

Населяющие южную часть Африки семижаберные акулы употребляют в пищу кальмаров, ракообразных, представителей пластинчатожаберных и костистых рыб. Нередко стаей нападают и на дельфинов и морских котиков. Это излюбленный способ их охоты на крупную добычу.

Семижаберные акулы являются яйцеживородящим рыбами. Самцы достигают половой зрелости при достижении ими 1,5 метра в длину, а самки – 1,8 – 2 метров. В помете зачастую бывает свыше 100 особей. Акулята появляются на свет длиной примерно 50 сантиметров вполне приспособенными к самостоятельной жизни в океане, и растут очень быстро.

Notorynchus platycephalus. Плоскоголовая семижаберная акула обыкновенная.

Плоскоголовая семижаберная акула - это довольно крупная представительница семижаберников, достигающая в длину 2 метров и имеющая вес в среднем 250 килограмм. От остальных акул отличается дополнительной парой жабр с каждой стороны. Имеет один спинной плавник, расположенный недалеко от хвостового, и большие глаза, лишенные мигательных перепонок.

Обитает плоскоголовая семижаберная акула на глубине от 300 до 500 метров от поверхности воды. Предпочитает устья и заливы. В дневное время года поднимается на поверхность, а ночью – опускается на дно океана, иначе говоря, совершает суточные миграции. Также данному виду хищников присущи и сезонные миграции. В теплое время года они предпочитают обитать на мелководье, а в холодное – опускаются на глубину, следуя за планктоном, который служит пищей для рыб и животных. А последними, в свою очередь, питаются сами акулы.

Охотится плоскоголовый семижаберник на самых разнообразных представителей морской фауны: на миног, более мелких акул, рыбью икру, улиток, костистых рыб, улиток, морских химер и крыс. Употребляет в пищу также морских свиней, дельфинов и тюленей.

Плоскоголовая семижаберная акула является ценнейшим объектом рыболовного промысла с древнейших времен. В былые времена охотники маори делали из острых зубов туатини (так они называли эту акулу) специальные инструменты в виде пилы, служащей для резания человеческого мяса. Добытый акулий жир вместе с красной охрой они использовали для раскрашивания своих лодок и погребальных камней великих вождей. Также жиром они обильно смазывали головы и обрабатывали покойников.

Сегодня плоскоголовая семижаберная акула активно добывается в китайских провинциях Шаньдун и Ляонин. Здесь ее ловят не сетями, а на обычные крючковые снасти. В печени этой рыбы содержится до 75% жира, который чрезвычайно богат витамином А. Для сравнения, у других акул его содержание колеблется от 14 до 25%. Жир этой акулы используется в медицинской практике и фармакологии Китая.

Однако европейцы употребляют плоскоголовую акулу исключительно в пищу. Притом, едят все ее части, начиная от туловища и заканчивая плавниками, и даже шкуру. Большой популярностью пользуется мясо плоскоголового семижаберника в южной части Калифорнии. Печень данного вида акулы, как и китов, из-за огромного количества витаминов, опасна для употребления. Полакомившись ею, можно получить отравление из-за их передозировки.

Некоторые плоскоголовые семижаберные акулы представляют серьезную опасность для людей. У побережий Южной Африки, Америки и Австралии, а также в Средиземном море встречаются семижаберники – людоеды, достигающие 3 – 4,5 метров в длину. Имеются многочисленные сведения об их нападении на людей.

Heptranchias perlo. Пепельная семижаберная акула.

Семижаберный пепельник – относится ко второму роду известных семижаберных акул. Свое название он получил за окраску. Верхняя часть туловища у данного хищника имеет коричневый цвет с серым отливом, брюхо у него – светло-коричневое. Часто пепельника называют также стройным семижаберником, одноплавниковой акулой и семижаберной акулой - коровой.

Благодаря уникальной форме своего тела, пепельная семижаберная акулы является отличным пловцом. Она имеет узкую заостренную голову и стройное обтекаемое туловище. Своими зазубренными многовершинными зубами она легко удерживает свою добычу – кальмаров и рыбу. Огромные глаза дают возможность ей охотиться на глубине до одного километра, тогда как другие акулы обычно держаться в мелководной зоне – до 500 метров.

Пепельная семижаберная акула предпочитает тропические и умеренные воды Атлантического океана. Встречается вблизи кубинского побережья, берегов Испании, Северной Африки, а также в Средиземном море.

Семижаберный пепельник относится к яйцеживородящим рыбам. За один раз самка приносит потомство примерно в 20 акулят. Довольно скромные размеры по отношению к другим видам акул – до 1,3 метров, не позволяют назвать пепельную акулу особо опасной для человека. Но, тем не менее, они довольно агрессивны, что хорошо видно при их поимке. Поэтому она все же внесена в категорию опасных. И семижаберник представляет гораздо большую опасность, чем китовая или гигантская акула, так как может нанести сильные увечья своими страшными зубами.

Известен случай, когда пепельная семижаберная акула, находясь в неволе, сильно покусала дайвера. Ответственная она и за мелкие нападения на людей на мелководье. В желудке одного семижаберника были обнаружены человеческие останки, правда, не известно, напал ли хищник на живого человека или питался останками.

В 2010 году был зарегистрирован случай нападения пепельника на девочку-подростка у берегов Новой Зеландии. К счастью, ребенку удалось отбиться от зубов опасного хищника бодибордной доской. Акула все же укусила девочку за ногу, и ребенку потребовалось лечение в больнице. После этого случая девочка, до этого активно занимающаяся морскими спорта, отказалась от плавания в океане. Годом раньше семижаберная акула уже нападала на купающихся на пляже людей. Одной ее жертве было наложено свыше 60 швов.

Пепельная семижаберная акула по агрессивности сильно уступает таким морским чудовщам, как серая бычья акула, тигровая акула или большая белая акула. Тем не менее, купаясь в местах возможного ее обитания, расслабляться не следует.

Copyright ©  ООО «Грогол». Все права защищены.

 

Управление: InfoDesignerWeb