+8 (800) 333-39-74

 

Free calls from anywhere within Russia

  

7 (499) 110-08-34

Moscow  

8 (914) 321-28-79

Vladivostok

1 (305) 771-54-24

Miami

(612) 807-305-90

Sydney

 

The Silky Shark

Silky shark (from Latin Carcharhinus falciformis) belongs to the family of requiem sharks (Carcharhinidae) of order Carcharhiniformes.

Like most of the requiem sharks, the silky shark is a perfect swimmer. This is achieved due to a perfectly slender, streamlined body of a typical shark form covered with soft placoid scales, from which it has taken its name. It is also commonly referred to as Florida shark, wide mouth shark, sickle-shaped shark and the tuna killer because of its fancy to feed on tuna caught in the fishing nets.

The silky shark has typical dark coloration of various shades of bronze, grey, blue and golden-brown on its back and white on its belly. These colors gradually fade with aging. The scales covering the skin are so small, it seems as if they are totally absent. In the sunbeams penetrating the water surface the sharks body gleams with golden-blue.

A distinctive feature of this species is long free rear tips found on anal and second dorsal fins. The first dorsal fin is relatively small and slightly rounded, located in front of the pectoral ones. The caudal fin is rather large with a prolonged upper part protruding at the top. The two long sickle-shaped pectoral fins, which darken at the tips, had determined the Latin scientific name of this shark.

The silky shark is easily distinguishable among the other species: in addition to peculiar silky skin and long free rear tips on dorsal fins this species of requiem sharks has a skin fold in between the dorsal fins and a relatively small fore fin, which is concave at the top and shifted to the back in relation to long pectoral fins. The first pectoral fins base is located in close proximity of the last gill slit.

Relatively big round eyes have a third eyelid the well-developed nictitating membrane. Exceptionally keen hearing allows the silky shark orienting by low-frequency noises coming from potential prey. A highly developed sense of smell, which is typical for all pelagic sharks, is of vital importance because it allows finding sources of food on the open sea.

Such an acute sense of smell of this predator allows detecting the victim within several hundreds of meters that in the context of tough competition might play a crucial role. Thus, a more effective sense of smell of longimanus, also known as the oceanic whitetip shark, detects smells, which pervade in the air, thereby it always reaches the target before its silky and blue peers.

The rather small jaws with sharp saw-edged teeth, which are facing backward, are the perfect weapon suited both for holding down the slippery prey and for effectively cutting it apart. Sharp upper teeth are basically the triangular serrated blades. The lower teeth are smaller, narrower and smooth-edged. The junction between the base and the top of the tooth is well-marked.

The silky or sickle-shaped shark is a large slender fish with a long rounded nose, big eyes and long sickle-shaped jaws on the lower part of its slightly flattened snout. This predator reaches from 2.5 meters up to 3.5 meters in length. The maximum recorded weight is 346 kg. The recent intensive extermination of sharks has resulted in even small specimen of this predator being difficult to encounter. As with most of the recent shark species, males are a bit smaller than females.

The silky shark is an aggressive and a very fast predator. It usually hunts alone, although it can unite into shoals with whitetip, requiem and more rarely with blue sharks and dolphins. It feeds on bottom-lying, pelagic and reef bony fishes, crustaceans and shellfish. It favors the schooling pelagic fish: sardines, grey mullets and mackerels. Its favorite meal is tuna.

Qualifying as species, which migrate for long distances and inhabit predominantly the warm subtropical waters, the silky shark can be found off shore, on island and continental slopes and platforms as well as in deep water reefs. Alongside with the blue and whitetip sharks the silky shark is one of the most widespread pelagic sharks.

The habitat of the silky shark is pretty vast. It ranges almost everywhere in the warm waters of the world ocean, where water temperature is no lower than 22 degrees Celsius. It can be found in the Mediterranean and the Red Sea, as well as in equatorial and the adjacent latitudes. Seasonal fluctuations of water temperature and foraging make sharks migrate in search of the better natural conditions.

Sometimes sickle-shaped sharks wander in the coastal waters; they are also often found near islands and above the submerged reefs. They can pose a threat to humans considering their large size and aggressive behavior. The warning sign for a diver an uninvited guest or a poacher, is the threatening posture, which is intrinsic to most species of requiem sharks Galapagos sharks, reef sharks and others. Shark lifts up its head, humps its back with the tail below its body. The best choice for a human is to take a hasty leave away from the area, which has become dangerous to stay in.

For fairness sake it stands to mention that there is not a single recorded case of unprovoked aggression of the shark towards humans. This means there is no point in stretching ones luck and philandering with anything but a harmless fish, moreover considering its size matching the one of a human. Although even the small size is not necessarily the attribute of peacefulness and tolerance. There are known cases of swimmers and divers being attacked by pygmy sharks no longer than half a meter, as well as leopard sharks and the tiniest cigar sharks. The same law of the jungle is applicable to marine creatures, where the winner takes it all and the role of prey awaits the weak and helpless. Therefore, when encroaching on someone elses territory, you better not violate these laws, but preserve the harmony of the underwater world.

The predator keeps to itself without uniting into schools on moderate depths up to 50 meters in the warm water layers, but it can also swim much deeper up to 500 meters down. Sometimes in order to hunt fast pelagic fish more effectively it joins the schools of tuna.

Like all the other requiem sharks, the silky sharks are viviparous. Babies are born already developed 70-80 cm in size. There can be 2 to 14 of them in one brood. Babies spend their first days in the shallow water flying the nest from the very beginning. Their mother does not experience tender sentiments towards them and does not take any part in nurturing. She could well dine on her newborn babies, if the wise nature hadnt taken care of quashing the sharks hunger during pregnancy. The average lifespan of silky sharks is around 23 years.

In many parts of the world the silky sharks are of great importance for commercial fishing. They are often caught in the tuna nets in the Gulf of Mexico, although they are also caught deliberately. The silky shark trade is pursued in the Maldives and the Caribbean Islands, USA and Japan. The silky shark is highly valued; it accounts for 70-80% of the total harvest of sharks. This fish is prized for its liver oil, tasty meat and large fins, which can be eaten dried, salted or fresh. Shark fin soup is a renowned delicacy. The silky shark is among three most important species of commercial fish in the global harvesting of shark fins. The annual recovery is 0.5-1.5 million sharks.

Due to a long pregnancy period the silky sharks, just as the other sharks, breed slowly. Small number of babies in a brood as well as their slow growth and low survival percentage also influence the tangible decrease in population of this species in the ocean. According to some reports, the population of silky sharks has dropped 85% in the last 20 years. If no measures limiting the uncontrolled fishing are taken, the silky shark may well become an endangered species in the nearest 10 years. This shark is not enlisted in the Red Book at the moment, although if such a tendency will continue for some 5-6 years, who can tell, what will happen to this marine beauty eventually. Apart from the fishing industry, the silky shark is also a target of interest for scientists, who use it in the research studies. The spotlight is on the sensory abilities of the silky predators.

Copyright ©  «». .

 

: InfoDesignerWeb

8 (800) 333-39-74

 

ЗВОНОК БЕСПЛАТНЫЙ

из любой точки России

7 (499) 110-08-34

Телефон в Москве  

8 (914) 321-28-79

Телефон во Владивостоке

1 (305) 771-54-24

Телефон в Майами (США)

(612) 807-305-90

Телефон в Сидней (Австралия)

 

Шелковая акула

Шелковистая акула (лат. Carcharhinus falciformis) относится к семейству серых (пилозубых) акул Carcharhinidae. Род: Carcharhinus

Принадлежащая к семейству серых акул, шёлковая, или шелковистая акула, как и большинство пилозубых хищниц, является совершенным пловцом. Этому способствует идеально стройное обтекаемое тело характерной акулообразной формы с мягкой плакоидной чешуёй на коже, благодаря чему она и получила название. Также её часто называют шелковистой, флоридской акулой, широкоротой, серповидной, иногда, из-за пристрастия этой акулы питаться «готовым» тунцом, пойманным в рыболовные сети, её называют тунцовым убийцей.

Для шёлковой акулы характерен достаточно тёмный окрас на спине различных оттенков бронзового, серого, голубого, буро-коричневого с лёгким металлическим блеском и белый на брюхе. С возрастом цвета тускнеют. Чешуйки, покрывающие кожу, настолько мелкие, что создаётся эффект их полного отсутствия. В солнечных лучах, проникающих в толщу воды, тело акулы переливается голубовато-бронзовым шёлком.

Отличительным признаком вида являются длинные свободные отростки на анальном и втором спинном плавниках. Первый спинной плавник достаточно небольшой, слегка закруглённый, расположен впереди брюшных. Хвостовой плавник довольно большой с удлинённой верхней частью, имеющей выступ на конце. Два больших грудных плавника серповидной формы с более тёмным окрасом на концах обусловили научное латинское название этой акулы.

Отличить шелковистую акулу от других видов достаточно просто: помимо необычной шелковистой кожи и длинных отростков на задних плавниках, этот вид серых акул имеет кожную складку между плавниками на спине и относительно небольшой передний плавник с вогнутым верхним краем, сдвинутым назад по отношению к длинным грудным плавникам. Основание первого грудного плавника находится в непосредственной близости к последней жаберной щели.

Довольно большие круглые глаза имеют «третье веко» — хорошо развитую мигательную перепонку. Очень острый слух позволяет шёлковой акуле ориентироваться по низкочастотным шумам, производимым потенциальными источниками пищи. Чрезвычайно развитое обоняние, характерное для всех пелагических акул, является жизненно необходимым, позволяющим отыскать пищу в условиях открытого океана.

Сверхчуткий нюх шелковистой хищницы позволяет уловить запах жертвы за несколько сотен метров, что в условиях жёсткой конкуренции может сыграть определяющую роль. Так, более совершенное обоняние лонгимануса, или длинноплавниковой океанической акулы, ловит запахи, распространяющиеся по воздуху, благодаря чему последняя всегда оказывается у цели раньше, чем её шелковистые или голубые конкурентки.

Небольшие челюсти с острыми зазубренными зубами, загнутыми назад, являются совершенным оружием, приспособленным и для удобного удерживания скользкой добычи, и для эффективного её разрезания. Острые зубы верхней челюсти представляют собой треугольные пластинки с мелкими пильчатыми зазубринами. Нижние зубы более мелкие и узкие, шиловидной формы со слегка скошенной вершиной. Хорошо выражен переход между основанием и вершиной зуба.

Шелковистая, или серповидная акула — крупная, стройная рыба с длинным округлым носом, большими глазами и серповидной пастью на нижней стороне слегка уплощённой морды. В длину хищница достигает 2,5, реже — 3,5 м в длину. Максимальный зарегистрированный вес — 346 кг. Интенсивное уничтожение акул в последнее время приводит к тому, что сейчас сложно встретить даже некрупный экземпляр шёлковой хищницы. Мужские особи, как и у многих современных видов акул, немного мельче женских.

Шёлковая акула — агрессивная и очень быстрая хищница. Охотится в одиночку, но может и объединяться в стаи с длиннокрылыми, серыми рифовыми и реже — синими акулами, дельфинами. Питается придонными, пелагическими и рифовыми костными рыбами, ракообразными, моллюсками. Кулинарное предпочтение отдаёт стайным пелагическим рыбам: сардинам, кефали, макрели, скумбрии. Любимое блюдо — тунец.

Относящаяся к видам, мигрирующим на дальние расстояния и обитающим преимущественно в тёплых водах субтропиков, шелковистая акула встречается в открытом море, на островных и континентальных склонах и шельфах, глубоководных рифах. Наряду с синей и длиннокрылой акулами шёлковая является одной из наиболее распространённых пелагических акул.

Ареал обитания шёлковой акулы достаточно обширен. Она водится практически повсеместно в тёплых водах мирового океана, где температура воды не ниже 22 °C: живёт в Средиземном и Красном морях, встречается в экваториальных и прилегающих к ним широтах мирового океана. Сезонные колебания температуры воды и поиски пищи заставляют акулу мигрировать в поисках лучших условий.

Иногда серповидные акулы забредают в прибрежные воды, часто обнаруживаются у островов и над погружёнными рифами. Для человека они могут представлять опасность, поскольку достигают больших размеров и отличаются агрессивным характером. Предупреждением для дайвера, непрошенным гостем вторгшегося в её владения, является поза угрозы, характерная для большинства видов серых акул — галапагосских, рифовых и других. Акула поднимает голову, спина её выгибается, при этом хвост опускается ниже уровня тела. Лучшее, что может предпринять человек — спешно удалиться из ставшего опасным участка.

Справедливости ради стоит отметить, что неспровоцированного нападения шелковистых акул на человека зарегистрировано не было. А значит, не стоит искушать судьбу и заигрывать с этой совсем не безобидной рыбой, тем более, если её размеры сравнимы с человеческими. Хотя даже небольшой размер может и не быть признаком миролюбивости и толерантности. Известны случаи, когда пловцов и дайверов атаковали и акулы-малютки, не превышающие полуметровой длины, а также леопардовые и совсем крошечные сигарные акулы. В море, как и в природе в целом, властвуют свои законы, где побеждает сильнейший, а слабым и беспомощным уготована роль жертвы. А потому, вторгаясь в чужеродную среду, не стоит нарушать эти законы, сохраняя гармонию подводного мира.

Держится хищница поодиночке, не образуя стай, на небольших глубинах до 50 м в прогреваемых слоях воды, но может заплывать и на более значительные глубины от 500 м. Иногда для более результативной охоты на быстрых пелагических рыб присоединяется к стае тунцов.

Как и все пилозубые селахии, размножаются шёлковые акулы живорождением. Акулята рождаются уже сформировавшимися, размером 70–80 см. В помёте их обычно от 2 до 14. Первые дни акулята проводят на мелководье, начиная сразу жить самостоятельно, мать нежных чувств к ним не испытывает и в воспитании потомства участия не принимает. Возможно, она бы и отобедала новорожденными детёнышами, если бы мудрая природа не позаботилась бы о подавлении чувства голода у акулы во время родов. В среднем шелковистые акулы живут около 23 лет.

Во многих частях мира шёлковые акулы имеют важное значение для коммерческого рыболовства. Часто они попадают в сети, расставленных в Мексиканском заливе на тунца, но их отлавливают и отдельно. Промыслом шёлковых акул занимаются на Мальдивах, Карибах, в США, в японских водах. Шёлковая акула высоко ценится, доля добычи её составляет 70–80 % улова всех акул. Очень ценится жир, вкусное мясо и крупные плавники этой рыбы, которые употребляются в пищу в сушёном, солёном, свежем и вяленом виде. Суп из плавников является известным деликатесом. В мировой добыче акульих плавников шёлковая акула является одним из трёх важных видов промысловых рыб. Годовая добыча достигает 0,5–1,5 млн особей.

Из-за долгого периода беременности шёлковые акулы, как и другие разновидности акул, медленно размножаются. Также небольшое количество рождающихся акулят, их медленный рост и процент выживаемости влияют на ощутимое снижение популяции вида в мировом океане. За последние 20 лет, по некоторым данным, популяция шелковистой акулы снизилась на 85 %. Если не принять меры по ограничению бесконтрольного отлова, за ближайшие десять лет шёлковая акула может стать редким видом. В настоящие дни шелковистая акула не занесена в Красную книгу, но если в течение 5–6 лет существующая тенденция сохранится, никто не знает, что будет с этой морской красавицей дальше. Помимо рыболовной отрасли шелковистой акулой интересуются учёные, использующие её для научных исследований. В центре изысканий — сенсорные способности шёлковых хищниц.

Copyright ©  ООО «Грогол». Все права защищены.

 

Управление: InfoDesignerWeb